← December 2004 627 photos
January 2005
0 photos
February 2005 → 1224 photos
Browse Archive (303 months)
January 3, 2005 6 items
Blog Posts

A few days after Christmas I received an email from an upset University server admin who thought my servers were attacking his servers through email. What was actually happening was that a spammer was sending email using random fake address at his server's domain name which I will call anonymous.edu. It wouldn't have been a problem if the server was correctly responding with 550 errors which mean Permanent Failure, but the servers were sending 450 which are Temporary errors, so all the servers that were trying to deliver the bounces, kept trying. So here is the first email I received from [email protected]: > > ``` > > > From: [email protected] > Subject: Hosts from your domain are attacking our server > Date: December 28, 2004 2:19:23 PM PST > To: [a bunch of my email address] > > > Network/Security Administrator, > > > I'm sending you this mail because one or more IP addresses in your domain > are currently attacking our electronic mail server with a denial of service > attack consisting of multiple, rapid attempts to send mail to randomly > generated, non-existent email addresses. > > > Please take action with regard to the below hosts immediately to stop this > worm or virus. This attack may be reported to the U.S Federal Bureau of > Investigation for criminal prosecution. These hosts may also have been > blacklisted from sending mail to our server. > > > 64.239.136.142 (www.eecue.com) > > > ``` > > > To which I responded: > > ``` > > > From: eecue AT eecue.com > Subject: Re: Hosts from your domain are attacking our server > Date: December 28, 2004 2:32:16 PM PST > To: [email protected] > > > Hi you will notice those emails are not actually coming from my server. > > > The spammers are using my domain as their From: address. > > > Is this email for real? > > > -Dave > > > ``` > > > My guess was close, but I had it backwards... After getting three more of those emails they sent me this: > > ``` > > > From: [email protected] > Subject: Hosts from your domain are attacking our server > Date: December 28, 2004 2:59:32 PM PST > To: [a bunch of my email addresses] > > > Excuse me if this email is a duplicate. I forgot to list the IP address > of the victim of this attack. It is: atlantis.anonymous.net (192.168.139.69) > Also, I can be contacted at: [email protected] > > > I'm sending you this mail because one or more IP addresses in your domain > are currently participating in a distributed denial of service attack > consisting of multiple attempts to send mail to randomly generated, > non-existent email addresses at our site. > > > Please take action with regard to the below hosts immediately to stop this > worm or virus. These hosts may also have been blacklisted from sending > mail to our server. They can be re-enabled once the DDoS attack subsides. > > > 64.239.136.142 (www.eecue.com) > > > ``` > > > To which I responded this: > > ``` > > > From: eecue AT eecue.com > Subject: Re: Hosts from your domain are attacking our server > Date: December 28, 2004 3:01:28 PM PST > To: [email protected] > > > Hello, > > > Please send me the full email in question including the headers > so I can track down who is sending said email. > > > Thanks > > > -Dave > > > ``` > > > I didn't hear back about it until today when I received this email: > > ``` > > > From: anon\[email protected] > Subject: Re: Hosts from your domain are attacking our server > Date: January 3, 2005 12:42:57 AM PST > To: eecue AT eecue.com > > > It was for real, but was the result of a mis-diagnosis of the problem... > > > Things have returned to normal, there is no need to do anything on your > side. Our domain was the subject of a massive spam forgery ("Joe Job") > with randomly generated reply-to fields @anonymous.edu. This occurred for over > 14,000 domains, and our mail server was sending a 450 temporary error. > > > Basically we told 14,000 sites to keep trying to deliver bounce messages > back to us, with no valid local recipient, at whatever rate they did queue > flushes. Making it look very much to us like a Distributed Denial of > Service Attack. When really this whole thing would have been only briefly > painful if we had changed the failure notice to a permanent failure, > causing those 14000 servers to trash those invalid messages. > > > It was not apparent to us what was happening (since we never received any > of the bounces) until someone said, "Hey you know this bounce says that you > are replying with a 450 temporary failure..." It has now been changed to a > 550 (permanent failure) response. > > > Thanks again for looking into this! > > > ``` > > > Well that was nice of them to fix everything. > > ``` > > > From: eecue AT eecue.com > Subject: Re: Hosts from your domain are attacking our server > Date: January 3, 2005 7:17:39 PM PST > To: anon\[email protected] > > > Glad you worked everything out. > > > I thought it was somewhat humorous, so I posted about it on my website: > > > http://eecue.com/ > > > I changed the names to protect the innocent. > > > -Dave > > > .... > A. David Bullock > eecue : programmer / designer / admin / human > http://eecue.com/ - > anything is possible > > > ``` > > >

I want to wish everyone a safe, happy and prosperous new year. I also want everyone to take a few minutes from their day and a few dollars from their bank accounts and help out with Tsunami Relief. Click the link in the article below to find charities to donate to. Thanks!

ignore this!

It is really coming down outside my office right now![Major storm pounds state with heavy rain and snow](http://www.dailybreeze.com/news/articles/1320256.html)

Just wanted to wish everyone a safe and prosperous new year! =]